Reset to Factory Default

Aruba AP:
Connect the serial console breakout adapter cable to the AP Ethernet port and your PC/Laptop
Power on the AP and get into apboot mode. You’ll see the option to go into AP boot mode when the AP is booting.
From the apboot prompt, enter the following commands
apboot> purge
apboot> save
apboot> reset or boot

Aruba Controller:
#write erase all
Switch will be factory defaulted. All the configuration and databases will be deleted. Press ‘y’ to proceed : y
Do you really want to restart the system(y/n): y


There are 3 methods of restoring system defaults.
Restoring Factory Defaults:
This option will reset all system settings, including the Setup Console password. To restore factory defaults, use the following CLI command:
SGOS# restore-defaults factory-defaultsRetaining Console Settings:
This option will retain settings like console username and password, front panel pin number, console enable password, SSH host keys, keyrings used by secure console services, RIP configurations, IP address, MTU size, TCP round trip time, and static routes. To restore defaults while retaining console settings, use the following CLI command:
SGOS# restore-defaults keep-consoleRestoring Defaults through the Management Console:
If you restore defaults through the Management Console, you will lose most settings because there is no “keep console” option. To restore defaults through the Management Console, select Maintenance > General, click the Restore button, then click OK to confirm.


#erase startup-config
that only delete config but not vlan.
vlan in vlan.dat
# delete flash:vlan.dat
Delete filename [vlan.dat]?
# reload

System configuration has been modified. Save? [yes/no]: n
Proceed with reload? [confirm]

The difficulty with clearing a switch that is cabled to other switches is removing the VLANs. When the switch
is finished reloading, it is possible for it to relearn VLANs from another connected switch that is in VTP server
or client mode.
To determine if the VLANs have been relearned, use the show vlan command.
Switch# show vlan brief
However, if the show vlan command displays nondefault VLANs after you have deleted the vlan.dat file,
your switch has learned the VLANs dynamically from another switch.
Switch# show vlan brief
VLAN Name Status Ports
—- ——————————– ——— ——————————-
1 default active Fa0/1, Fa0/2, Fa0/3, Fa0/4
Fa0/5, Fa0/6, Fa0/7, Fa0/8
Fa0/9, Fa0/10, Fa0/11, Fa0/12
Fa0/13, Fa0/14, Fa0/15, Fa0/16
Fa0/17, Fa0/18, Fa0/19, Fa0/20
Fa0/21, Fa0/22, Fa0/23, Fa0/24
Gi0/1, Gi0/2
10 OFFICE active
20 VOICE active
30 GUEST active
50 SERVERS active
100 MGMT active
200 TRANS active
900 NATIVE active
999 UNUSED active
1002 fddi-default act/unsup
1003 token-ring-default act/unsup
1004 fddinet-default act/unsup
1005 trnet-default act/unsup

To eliminate these VLANS, shut down all interfaces and remove the existing VLANs.
Switch(config)# interface range FastEthernet 0/1 – 24
Switch(config-if-range) # shutdown
Switch(config-if-range)# interface range GigabitEthernet 0/1 – 2
Switch(config-if-range) # shutdown
Switch(config-if-range) # exit
Switch(config) # no vlan 2-999
to delete config.text (config and password) from ROMMON
1. press Mode button within 15s
switch>delete flash:config.text


(config)# configure factory-default

If you didn’t specify ip address, then inside interface ip address will be
Cisco CAPWAP/LWAP Access Point
rommon 1 > confreg 0x2142
You must reset or power cycle for new config to take effect
rommon 2 > reset
Would you like to enter the initial configuration dialog? [yes/no]: no
#copy start run
Destination filename [running-config]?
#conf t
(config)#enable secret cisco
(config)#config-register 0x2102
Proceed with reload? [confirm]Cyberoam:
If you forget Web and Console password, type RESET as password in console
Password: RESET
Please read this carefully:
You are about to reset the system back to factory default configuration.
* The new CLI password will be ‘admin’.
* All network interfaces will get up with the factory default configuration.
* Appliance registration will NOT be affected by this.
* Other firmware’s configuration will NOT be affected by this.
* Post reset, this will reboot the system.
Main Menu
1.  Reset configuration
2.  Reset configuration and signatures
3.  Reset configuration, signatures and reports
0.  Exit
Select Menu Number [0-3]: 1F5:

You may occasionally need to remove the current BIG-IP configuration and restore the system to the factory default setting. To do so, you can use the tmsh load sys config default command. The tmsh load sys config default command saves the currently-running configuration to the /var/local/scf/backup.scf file, and then loads the /defaults/defaults.scf file to restore the configuration to factory default settings.

Note: The tmsh load sys config default command retains certain configuration elements such as those that are necessary to maintain basic administrative functionality.

When you restore the BIG-IP configuration to factory default settings, the system performs the following tasks:

Removes all BIG-IP local traffic configuration objects
Removes all BIG-IP network configuration objects
Removes all non-system maintenance user accounts
Retains the management IP address
Removes system maintenance user account passwords (root and admin)
Retains the BIG-IP license file
Retains files in the /shared partition
Retains manually-modified bigdb database variables
To restore the BIG-IP configuration to the factory default setting, perform the following procedure.

Restoring the BIG-IP configuration to the factory default setting

Impact of procedure: This procedure removes all BIG-IP local traffic and network configuration objects.

scp /config/bigip.license to your pc first
(tmos)#load sys config default
Reset the system configuration to factory defaults? (y/n)y
(tmos)#save sys config partitions all
To restore config

(tmos)#load sys ucs test.ucs no-license

# execute factoryreset


The user can restore the factory default configuration either on the switch itself, or through the switch console.
To execute the factory default reset on the switch, perform these steps:
-Using pointed objects, simultaneously press both the Reset and Clear buttons on the front of the switch.
-Continue to press the Clear button while releasing the Reset button.
-When the Self Test LED begins to blink, release the Clear button.
-The switch will then complete its self test and begin operating with its configuration restored to the factory default settings.

To restore the factory default configuration using the console, execute the erase startup-config command from the console command prompt.


root@host# delete
root@host# load factory-default
root@host# set system root-authentication plain-text-password
root@host# commit and-quit
root@host> request system rebootMikrotik[admin@MikroTik] >/system reset-configurationMikrotik:
[admin@MikroTik] >/system reset-configurationPaloAlto:
1. Connect Console cable (9600,8,n,1) to Console port
2. Power on or reboot device
3. During the boot sequence, the screen should look like this
12-May 12.30.38
4. Type maint to enter maintenance mode.
12-May 12.32.16
5. In maintenance mode, this should appear on the screen:
12-May 12.33.25
6. Press enter and this menu should appear
12-May 12.35.27
7. Select Factory Reset and press enter:
12-May 12.36.16




1. set your pc ip to and connect ethernet cable to LAN
2. Unfold a paperclip and insert the end of the object into the hole where the reset button resides. The hole is located on the back of the appliance, usually positioned by the power switch or indicator lights.
Push and hold the reset button for 10 seconds, then navigate to in a web browser to reconfigure the appliance
Click the boot icon by “Current Firmware with Factory Default Settings” to restore the SonicWALL to its original configuration.
If the web-based configuration page prompts you to log in to the appliance, enter “admin” (without the quotations) into the Username field and “password” (without the quotations) into the Password field


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s